2004/5 North East Indoor Regional Series Results - 10th Electric Off Road
York - 9th January 2005


York Indoor Regional Round 3.
Report by Kash Khan

Race Data Championship

Round 3 of the Indoor Regional was held at Huntington School in York.

With York holding the indoor finals in March it was a good chance to get some practise and car setups established before the big event.

The Venue is an indoor school sports hall with the track being made up of mainly carpet and some slippy floor. The carpet is very good and seems to keep tyre wear at a slow rate which pleased a lot of drivers.

Once again it was a good turn out for the day with 8 heats of 2wd and 3 heats of 4wd.

Also once again most drivers used Schumacher yellow minipins. The minipins offered the most grip but some drivers opted for minispikes as it made the cars a bit more predictable but never looked as they were struggling for any grip.

The track had been put together well and the smallest mistake would punish you which frustrated a number of drivers.

There were a number of problems with the transponders during the first couple of rounds causing delays, so it was decided that the 4th round of qualifying would be dropped.

However as the third round was completed there was vote put to the drivers, if they would like to drop the finals and have a 4th qualifying run with the final positions being decide from where you qualified, or to continue with the finals.The vote went to continuing with the finals.

So for the finals, in 2wd Neil Cragg took Pole with Richard Lowe 2nd.  There were plenty of mistakes in the final but Neil lead from start to finish and took the win convincingly. Richard eventually finished 4th to keep himself at the top of the table.

In 4wd Tom Cockerill took the lead from lap 2 and never looked back. He was using Richard Lowe’s Bj4x4 and did very well, well done Tom.



A Final 2wd and TQ
1) Neil Cragg
A Final 4wd
1) Tom Cockerill
B Final 2wd
1) James Pritchard
B Final 4wd
1) Alan Dawkins
C Final 2wd
1) Bruce Thompson
C Final 4wd
1) James Storey
D Final 2wd
1) Dougie Pratt
E Final 2wd
1) Thomas Moore
F Final 2wd
1) Darren Horsman
G Final 2wd
1) David Bailey
H Final 2wd
1) Simon Ball
Ben Riley


Indoor Regional - Durham
30th January 2005